Getting old Truecrypt to work with Xenial

Truecrypt died two years back.

Despite their warning I continued to use it for encrypting some of my data, because I believe Truecrypt was rather killed by a hidden hand – not actually because of any unfixable vulnerabilities.

So, straight to the topic; a new Ubuntu LTS is here and everyone is upgrading. I wanted to install it from the scratch this time. Therefore first of all I took backups using Truecrypt that I have been using since 2014. (My laptop had Ubuntu 14.04 LTS until right now)

All went so smooth until I tried to mount my encrypted Truecrypt volume with the previous Truecrypt 7.1a binary I had. It has been previously compiled into one single executable binary, and the architecture was the same (x86_64).

The error was;

error while loading shared libraries: libwx_gtk2u_adv-2.8.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Mmm… dependency problem! I tried to install libwxgtk-2.8 from official Ubuntu Xenial Xerus repositories, but the only available version was 3.0. Installing version 3.0 did not address the issue.

After trying out a couple of other options I figured out that easiest option is directly downloading and installing dependencies from the Launchpad. It fixed the issue!

So, this is what worked for me:

$ cd /usr/bin
$ sudo ln -s /opt/truecrypt truecrypt    #Note: I put my previous binary in /opt
$ mkdir /tmp/wx
$ cd /tmp/wx
$ wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/219037037/libwxgtk2.8-0_2.8.12.1+dfsg2-2ubuntu2_amd64.deb
$ wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/219037033/libwxbase2.8-0_2.8.12.1+dfsg2-2ubuntu2_amd64.deb
$ sudo dpkg -i *.deb
$ truecrypt &

I believe this is the time I should be looking for an alternative encryption solution, because eventually dependencies will also get old and die, completely killing Truecrypt.

 

One thought on “Getting old Truecrypt to work with Xenial

Leave a Reply

